Need vs. Want (Part 1)

Posted: February 12, 2009 in Life
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m putting out a challenge for everyone that reads this blog! Far too many times do I have this conversation and nobody seems to get it. I bet you can’t do this!

I have come to realize through personal studies, findings, and viewing other people in my society that most (90%) people are locked into a serious cycle of dependence. It’s funny to see people strive to be independent, free, and outspoken people and then have their words contradict everything they think. It can be helped if everyone would recognize that have control over everything they do and choose.

Commonly when people hear the last sentence of my first paragraph, because of personal stratification they, often say that “yes, I do have control over my life” or “nobody can make me do anything”. Then, I get into this steady argument about the things we say to ourselves and to others in general conversation that go against what you believe.  I often ask the question “Do you make money or does money make you?”. Naturally most people respond “I make money”, which is completely fine. We all want to “make money” and have it not make us simply because we feel that something like money or other materialistic items should not have dominance over us. In fact, of all the people I have asked this question only two people have answered “money makes me”. It’s the question I follow up with that tends to spark outrage and argument between me and others.

If I then ask “With that said, do you need to work?”, what would you then say? Think about that right now. When we work we participate in an “utilitarian organization” for income and most of us join one to make a living, but is it something we need to do. I have heard many answers to this question, and these are actual responses I’ve received;

“Yes”

“Of course you do because there is lives you have to take care of.”

“I need to work to pay bills. And feed, myself, health insurance, ect. If I could hang out all day I would. If you mean do I feel useless if I’m not working, no.
You make money, but you need to work.”

“Not really… But in order to survive I will work.”

“No let money generate tons of revenue, hahahahahahahahaha”

I’ve heard all sorts of answers from different types of people from this very thought provoking question. All have something in common: work is something people need to do in order to survive. What do you think right now about answering the question? I can tell how some of you may react, maybe you’re saying “no we don’t have to work” but don’t understand why we don’t so again it becomes a thing we have to do. Maybe you haven’t even budged and said “No matter what, we all have to work”. I hope and pray that some of you out there see why we don’t need to work already.

So what happens a lot is that it boils down to “surviving”, where we work to maintain a standard of living, but the serious question is “Do we “need” to survive?”. The answer is actually “no” and to some it’s hard to swallow the concept. Living, survival, and prospering isn’t something we need, its something we “WANT”. Life itself is a want, so how is it that we “need” to work. To me and hopefully to you by the end of this blog, everything in life including life itself is a want, there is nothing that we need.

Comments

Leave a Reply

