Talk About Mixed Feelings

Posted: November 1, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

A lot of my more intelligent, scientifically literate friends know how much I love astrophysics, astronomy, and related fields, like quantum mechanics. Some time ago I made a video, late at night after I had been burned by the sun from being out all day, about a thought I had in my head. It had to do with the expansion of the universe, dark energy, and it’s ties in theoretical physics.

A couple days ago I was looking through my video manager on youtube and came across that video. I watched it and pulled it immediately from the “Public” section. I didn’t realize just how jumbled my thoughts were and how I didn’t give too much detail in facts and reasoning. I poorly communicated the information because I didn’t write it down. I just hit the “record” button and went at it! So I decided that I wanted to remake the video fully explaining, in far better detail, my theory and view of things. I even drew up a couple slides to show just what I was going to explain. I don’t know if I thought that maybe I could have been one of the first people to pitch the idea, but it’s been in my mind for a while and I had to share.

The ONE thing I didn’t do was research what I was thinking. I googled the topic, just to look up a little more info on the subject matter and came right across what I had been thinking this entire time. I had mixed feelings about it too. At first I was upset… “FUCK!!”, I couldn’t believe it was already proposed. Like someone read my mind. I took a step back, thought a bit… and…. smiled.

Now… I feel a bit proud of myself. I came to a logical conclusion with verifiable, testable information about the cosmos; totally unassisted. Now, it may only be a theory, but I put this together in my head and played with it only to find that others drew the same conclusions and thought the same thing. I’m not alone in this… I feel really good about that.

 

Leave a Reply

